## **January 27, 2014**

The Dale County Commission convened in regular session Monday, January 27, 2014. The following members were present: Mark Blankenship, Chairman; District One Commissioner Douglas M. Williamson; District Two Commissioner Steve McKinnon; District Three Commissioner Charles W. Gary and District Four Commissioner James W. Strickland.

Chairman Blankenship called the meeting to order at 5:30 p. m. Commissioner McKinnon opened with the Pledge to Allegiance. Commissioner Williamson followed with prayer.

#### MINUTES - JANUARY 13, 2014 REGULAR SESSION

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the minutes of the January 13, 2014 regular session meeting. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

#### HELD OVER FOR FURTHER REVIEW

A vote on the Resolution and Agreement to participate in the ACCA Liability Self-Insurance Fund is postponed for further review.

#### APPOINTMENT – DALE COUNTY COURT SERVICES BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Commissioner Gary made a motion to appoint Paula Teeter to the Dale County Court Services Board of Directors. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

#### APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT TRANSFER – JAIL/SHERIFF'S OFFICE

Upon recommendation of Sheriff' Wally Olson, Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the transfer of Laron Johnson to the Dale County Jail from the Dale County Sheriff's Office and Tyler Harrington to the Dale County Sheriff's Office from the Dale County Jail. Commissioner Strickland seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## <u>APPROVED – POSTING PROPOSED CHANGES TO CLASSIFICATION PLAN (CHIEF DEPUTY</u> AND CAPTAIN) AND CHIEF INVESTIGATOR PROMOTION

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the posting of the proposed changes to the Dale County Classification Plan (Chief Deputy and Captain) and to approve the promotion of Tim Crooks to Chief Investigator. Commissioner Strickland seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## **January 27, 2014**

# <u>APPROVED – POSTING PROPOSED CHANGE TO CLASIFICATION PLANT – SOLID WASTE</u> CLERK

Commissioner Gary made a motion to approve the posting of the proposed change to the Dale County Classification Plan - Solid Waste Clerk. Commissioner McKinnon seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

#### APPROVED – PROMOTION – ROAD & BRIDGE FOREMAN

Upon recommendation of County Engineer Derek Brewer, Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the promotion of Greg Daniels to a Road & Bridge Foreman, Grade VIII, at a salary of \$16.55 per hour, effective January 29, 2014. Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

#### APPROVED - WORK REQUEST - ARITON HIGH SCHOOL & G.W. LONG HIGH SCHOOL

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the work requests from Ariton High School and G.W. Long High School for dirt. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried. Reimbursement will be at 100% by the General Fund.

#### MEMORANDUM OF WARRANTS

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the memorandum of warrants. (Payroll check numbers 154001-154005, Payroll direct deposit numbers 11794-11940, and Accounts Payable check numbers 65129-65210). Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

#### APPROVED – SURPLUS EQUIPMENT – MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to surplus the following:
1999 GMC Yukon vin: 1GKEC13R8XJ811518
Commissioner Williamson seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

#### <u>ANNOUNCEMENT – NEXT REGULAR MEETING</u>

Chairman Blankenship announced that the next regular meeting of the Dale County Commission would be Monday, February 10, 2014 at 5:30 pm. There will be a work session beginning at 4:30 p.m.

## **January 27, 2014**

## ADJOURNMENT: CONFIRMATORY STATEMENT

Commissioner Gary made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Strickland seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

It is hereby ordered the foregoing documents, resolutions, etc., be duly confirmed and entered into the minutes of the Dale County Commission as its official actions.

Mark Blankenship, Commission Chairman Douglas M. Williamson, Commissioner District # 1 Steve McKinnon, Commissioner District # 2 Charles W. Gary, Commissioner District # 3 James W. Strickland, Commissioner District # 4