# August 11, 2015

The Dale County Commission convened its regular meeting on Tuesday, August 11, 2015. The following members were present: Mark Blankenship, Chairman; District One Commissioner Chris Carroll; District Two Commissioner Steve McKinnon; District Three Commissioner Charles W. Gary and District Four Commissioner James W. Strickland.

# WORK SESSION

Chairman Blankenship called the work session to order at 10:00 a.m. The following items were on the work session agenda for discussion and/or information:

Mark Blankenship – United Way

#### Minutes -

1. Approve Minutes of July 28, 2015 Regular Meeting

# Employment –

- 2. Road & Bridge Laborer Wilson
- 3. Road & Bridge Laborer Reaves
- 4. Road & Bridge Foreman DeLoney
- 5. IT Technician Meeks

#### Other Business -

- 6. Post Proposed Change to Personnel Policies & Procedures Handbook
- 7. Memorandum of Warrants

#### Information/Discussion -

- 8. Bridge Inspection Program Review
- 9. Update Wayne Farms
- 10. Update Local Legislation

#### **VOTING SESSION**

Chairman Blankenship called the voting session to order at 10:45 a.m. Commissioner McKinnon opened with the Pledge to Allegiance. Commissioner Strickland followed with prayer.

### MINUTES – JULY 28, 2015 REGULAR SESSION

Commissioner Gary made a motion to approve the minutes of the July 28, 2015 regular session. Commissioner McKinnon seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

# August 11, 2015

# <u>APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT – RD & BR LABORER - WILSON</u>

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the employment of Steven Wilson as a Laborer in the Road & Bridge Department, Grade IV, at a salary of \$8.50 per hour, effective August 12, 2015. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

### APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT – RD & BR LABORER - REAVES

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve the employment Tahj Reaves as a Laborer in the Road & Bridge Department, Grade IV, at a salary of \$8.50 per hour, effective August 12, 2015. Commissioner Carroll seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

# <u>APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT – RD & BR FOREMAN - DELONEY</u>

Commissioner Carroll made a motion to approve the employment of Jim DeLoney as a Foreman in the Road & Bridge Department, Grade VIII, at a salary of \$16.32 per hour, effective August 26, 2015. Commissioner McKinnon seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## APPROVED – EMPLOYMENT – IT TECHNICIAN - MEEKS

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the employment of Aaron Meeks as the Information Technology (IT) Technician, Grade X, at a salary of \$15.00 per hour, effective August 19, 2015. Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## APPROVED – POSTING CHANGES TO POLICIES & PROCEDURES HANDBOOK

Commissioner McKinnon made a motion to approve posting the proposed changes to the Dale County Commission Personnel Policies and Procedures Handbook as presented. Commissioner Carroll seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

## MEMORANDUM OF WARRANTS

Commissioner Strickland made a motion to approve the memorandum of warrants. (Payroll check numbers 154189-154194, Payroll direct deposit numbers 17289-17421, and Accounts Payable check numbers 70325-70434). Commissioner Gary seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

# August 11, 2015

# ANNOUNCEMENT - SPECIAL CALLED BUDGET WORK SESSION

Chairman Blankenship announce that there will be a special called Budget Work Session on Friday, August 28, 2015 at 9:00 a.m.

## ANNOUNCEMENT – NEXT REGULAR MEETING

Chairman Blankenship announced that the next regular meeting of the Dale County Commission would be Tuesday, August 25, 2015 at 10:00 a.m.

# ADJOURNMENT: CONFIRMATORY STATEMENT

Commissioner Gary made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Strickland seconded the motion. All voted aye. Motion carried.

It is hereby ordered the foregoing documents, resolutions, etc., be duly confirmed and entered into the minutes of the Dale County Commission as its official actions.

Mark Blankenship, Commission Chairman Chris Carroll, Commissioner District # 1 Steve McKinnon, Commissioner District # 2 Charles W. Gary, Commissioner District # 3 James W. Strickland, Commissioner District # 4